• Mon December 20 2021
  • Posted Dec 27, 2021
A mix of experience and strength in numbers shows promise for Team USA at the ‘Zwift worlds’.

USA Cycling announced the athletes who will be representing the United States at the 2022 UCI esports world cycling championships.

“Zwift worlds” are set for February 26th, 2022, and both the men and the women’s fields will race on identical courses — over equal distances — and for equal prize money.

The race will be staged over 2.5 laps of Zwift’s New York Knickerbocker, taking on a total distance of 54.9km long, with 944m of elevation gain.

“When the course was first announced for the 2022 UCI eSports World’s, I was immediately intrigued,” said VeloNews columnist Zach Nehr, who qualified for worlds. “Last year finished atop a 70-second climb, which is a bit too punchy for me, but this year finishes atop the NYC KOM, which takes about three minutes. A different type of rider is going to win this year, and Team USA certainly have some race favorites.”

Among the nine men and ten women are a handful of veterans, as well as several new racers who will be racing at the UCI championship event.

Jadon Jaeger and Maeghan Easler earned their spots by winning the American qualifier race on December 11 that USAC held on the RGT platform.


2022 Team USA elite men
Kevin Bouchard-Hall (Wadhams, NY; Velocio)
J Bruhn (Baton Rouge, LA, NeXT p/b Enshored)
Brian Duffy Jr (King of Prussia, PA; NeXT p/b Enshored)
Brian Hodges (Shoreline, WA; Wahoo Le Col)
Jadon Jaeger (Wauwatosa, WI; Adapt Cycling)
Ryan Larson (Galloway, NJ; Saris/ NoPinz)
Zach Nehr (Milwaukee, WI.; NeXT p/b Enshored)
Spencer Seggebruch (Saint Louis, MO, CANYON)
Patrick Walle (Nashville, TN; NeXT p/b Enshored)

2022 Team USA elite women
Katheryn Curi (Los Altos, CA; Saris/ NoPinz)
** Maeghan Easler (Des Moines, IA; Saris/ NoPinz) **
Jacqueline Godbe (Chicago, IL; Saris/ NoPinz)
Rebecca Larson (Norman, OK; Dutch Diesel Cycling)
** Liz Van Houweling (Des Moines, IA; Saris/ NoPinz) **
Kristen Kulchinsky (Dix Hills, NY; Twenty 24)
Arielle Martin-Verhaaren (Williamsburg, VA; AEO)
Courtney Nelson (San Jose, CA; Saris/ NoPinz)
Shayna Powless (Roseville, CA; Twenty 24)
Stefanie Sydlik (Pittsburgh, PA; Canyon Wmn)


BIKEIOWA NOTE: Great to see TWO Iowans on the world stage representing the United States!

No comments have posted.

Leave a Comment

You must be signed in to leave a comment.